17 November 2022, UK: Leading electric vehicle charging network, InstaVolt, today announces it is appointing three non-executive directors to its board, to add significant expertise and drive the business strategy forward as the company announces its expansion into international markets.

Dorothy Thompson, Andrew Jones, and Andy Higginson will join InstaVolt’s board of non-executive directors.

Dorothy Thompson has extensive experience in the power and renewable energy sector, having held the position of CEO of one of Britain’s largest energy companies, Drax Group plc, for 12 years. Her previous roles span widely. Recently, she was a non-executive Director on the Court of the Bank of England for 8 years until this year, and she is a non-executive director of the NYSE listed power management company, Eaton Corporation, a role she has held since 2016. In 2013, she was appointed a Commander of the British Empire and her considerable experience in the fields of business and energy will be utilised to inform InstaVolt’s continued growth.

Dorothy Thompson comments, “The continued growth of the EV infrastructure both nationally and internationally is paramount to the trusted uptake of EVs throughout consumers. InstaVolt is leading the way with innovative technology and successful, reliable infrastructure. The company is bringing together brilliant minds and creating a service which is benefitting everyone, and I am delighted to form part of the company’s continued success going forward.”

Andrew Jones will also be joining InstaVolt’s board in a non-executive capacity. As the CEO of LondonMetric Property plc, which owns one of UK’s leading listed logistics warehousing platforms, and with previous experience as Executive Director and Head of Retail at British Land, Andrew’s experience serves InstaVolt with exceptional insight, supporting the expansion of the company’s charging infrastructure.

Andrew Jones comments, “As a leading player in the EV charging industry, InstaVolt is setting the precedent for what success looks like. It’s expanding into new markets, the chargers are reliable, and the service is best-in-class.”

Retail and consumer goods specialist, Andy Higginson, former chair of Morrisons and former Financial Director at Tesco is the final addition to InstaVolt’s non-executive board, bringing significant experience in working with industry titans as the company grows.

Andy Higginson comments, “After 40 years in business spanning the retail and consumer goods sectors, the opportunity to work with InstaVolt at this vital stage in its development is brilliant. The company is at the height of significant expansion and with that brings challenges, but also incredible opportunities which I look forward to supporting on.”

InstaVolt has made significant moves in the EV charging space following its acquisition by EQT in the first quarter of 2022 and is now the largest independent rapid charging network in the UK. The appointment of these impressive individuals to join the InstaVolt board as non-executive directors will propel the business forward.

Adrian Keen, CEO of InstaVolt commented: “The addition of Dorothy, Andrew and Andy to InstaVolt’s board has bolstered the knowledge and experience of our board and laid the foundations to truly accelerate our position in the EV charging sector.”

This year InstaVolt was named the UK’s best public charging network by Zap-Map for the fourth year in a row and was also awarded the EVIE “Private Sector Infrastructure Strategy of the Year” award for the second year in a row. In July 2022, a survey by Electric Road named InstaVolt as the UK’s best charging network and awarded Bronze in the Auto Express Driver Power awards for best public chargepoints.